Capcom Cup 2018 Results: Japan’s RED BULL|Gachikun is Capcom Cup Champion!

Capcom Cup 2018 Results

Thousands of players competed in the Capcom Pro Tour in 2018 but only 32 players qualified for Capcom Cup. A total prize pool of $400,000 was up for grabs with $250,000 going to first place along with the title of 2018 Capcom Cup Champion! In addition to the monetary prize and the Capcom Cup title, the winner gets their name permanently engraved on the trophy!

Taiwan’s PUNK|ZJZ Wins Last Chance Qualifier, De-railing Red-hot ALMAKASHI|Dankadillas from USA

The final player to qualify for Capcom Cup 2018 was decided at the Last Chance Qualifier event on Friday and it was full of surprises. In Grand Finals we had two players that virtually nobody would have expected and their experiences in the event were very different. USA’s ALMAKASHI|Dankadillas put on an absolutely unbelievable display of Dhalsim play and dominated almost all opponents. He would make it to Grand Finals in the Winners Bracket and looked to be unstoppable. Joining him in Grand Finals would be Taiwan’s PUNK|ZJZ, who was knocked into the Losers Bracket all the way back in Pools by XSK Samurai. It was win or go home for ZJZ for almost the entire event and win he did, again and again, until he made Grand Finals.

In Grand Finals Dankadillas surprised many by picking Blanka as his character and took an early lead until ZJZ adjusted and turned the tide. Dankadillas, who looked unstoppable until now, could not find a reliable solution for ZJZ’s Menat either with Blanka or with Dhalsim. ZJZ would win the first set 3-1 and win the second set 3-1 to secure 1st place and earn the 32nd spot at Capcom Cup 2018.

Japan’s RED BULL|Gachikun vs DETONATION|Itabashi Zangief in Grand Finals

Capcom Cup 2018 Grand Finals: Japan’s DETONATION|Itabashi Zangief (left) vs Japan’s RED BULL|Gachikun (right).

Japan’s RED BULL|Gachikun was like a force of nature through almost all of Capcom Cup, not losing a single game all the way until top 8! He would lose his first match in Winners semi-finals where he defeated Japan’s RED BULL|Bonchan 3-2. He would defeat Japan’s FUDOH|Fujimura 3-2 to make it to Grand Finals in the Winners bracket.

One of Gachikun’s victims early in top 16 was Japan’s DETONATION|Itabashi Zangief 3-0. Since that loss Itabashi Zangief went on a rampage worthy of his main character, Abigail. Although there would be very close calls along the way, Itabashi Zangief defeated one opponent after the other. He would make top 8, his second top 8 Capcom Cup appearance in a row, and would win his way into Grand Finals to once again face off against Gachikun.

In Grand Finals it started with a complete reversal of their earlier encounter with Itabashi Zangief quickly winning over Gachikun 3-0 to reset the bracket. Gachikun would adapt in the second set and would claw his way to a 2-0 lead but it was not over. Itabashi Zangief has already been within one round of going home against earlier opponents and never gives up. This time it was not enough, however, as Gachikun would go on to win the second set 3-1 to become the 2018 Capcom Cup Champion!

RED BULL|Gachikun: Capcom Cup 2018 Winner and Street Fighter V World Champion!

RED BULL|Gachikun had a great 2018 season going into Capcom Cup. He signed with his sponsor, RED BULL, in early November and now has won Capcom Cup! Gachikun will get his name engraved on the Capcom Cup trophy, take home a big prize of $250,000 and carry the title of Capcom Cup Champion! Congratulations to RED BULL|Gachikun on his impressive victory!

If You Couldn’t Watch Live, You Need to See These Matches!

There were so many incredible matches at Capcom Cup 2018. If you could not watch the event, or if you missed some matches here and there, be sure to visit our Videos page, where we will have a playlist for matches from Capcom Cup 2018. You can also go to the Capcom Fighters Youtube Channel to see match videos and replays there.

Capcom Cup 2018 Results: Top 32

Placing Handle Characters
1st RED BULL|Gachikun Rashid
2nd DETONATION|Itabashi Zangief Abigail
3rd FUDOH|Fujimura Ibuki
4th RAZER|Xian Ibuki
5th ECHO FOX|Justin Wong Menat
5th RED BULL|Bonchan Karin/Nash
7th NASR|AngryBird Zeku
9th RISE|Caba Guile
9th MOUSESPORTS|Problem X M.Bison
9th ATLAS BEAR|StormKUBO Abigail
13th GHOST|NuckleDu Guile/Cammy
13th RECIPROCITY|Punk Karin/Chun-Li
13th QANBA DOUYU|Xiao Hai Cammy
13th ECHO FOX|Tokido Akuma
17th Mago Cammy
17th NVD|Phenom Necalli
17th CYG BST|Fuudo R.Mika/Birdie
17th FUDOH|Haitani Akuma
17th FAV|Sako Menat
17th UYU|NL Cammy
17th RISE|MenaRD Birdie
17th BKJ|Luffy R.Mika
25th NASR|Big Bird Rashid
25th UYU|Oil King Rasid
25th CJ Truth Cammy
25th LIQUID|Nemo Urien
25th RAPTOR|Pikoro M.Bison
25th CYG BST|Daigo The Beast Guile
25th PUNK|ZJZ Menat
25th FURSAN|Verloren Cammy